Ukrainian music - Home page
Українською мовоюРусская версия
Tell a friend Print version E-mail us
 
There are 2123 items in our catalogue.
Search 
About us
How to order (FAQ)
Security
Compact discs
  Gift Ideas
  Folk
  Church
  Rock & Alternative
  Hip-Hop
  Modern Pop
  Variety Art
  Zabava
  Jazz & almost
  Electro-Acoustic Experiments
  Classical
  For Children
  Other
  Audio Books
  MP3-CD
  Multimedia
  Video
  NOT discs
Guestbook
DISC OF THE DAY
Taras Prokhasko. Tak, ale... (Yes, But...)
Prokhasko. Yes, But...
Domestic: 174.90UAH
International: $15.90USD
Kyiv Ethno Trio. Kyiv Ethno Trio. /digi-pack/.
Kyiv Ethno Trio
Domestic: 201.30UAH
International: $18.30USD
NEWSLETTER
Artists:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z [0-9]
Albums:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z [0-9]

reviews



Bohdan Kozak, Honoured Chapel of Ukraine "Trembita". Cantata Symphony by S.Lyudkevych "Kavkaz" and the Literary and Musical Composition "Dumas", lyrics by T.Shevchenko. (2CD).
  Thanh-Tam Le , Paris, France
12-11-2010 17:02

Lyudkevych's "Kavkaz" (1905-13), mentioned in several articles as a bold landmark in Ukrainian late Romantic music, was so far missing from the record catalogue. This CD fills the gap in a highly satisfactory manner, with a technically competent and committed performance by the "Trembita" Chapel and the Lviv Philharmonic conducted by Ivan Yuzyuk. (The other CD in the box will delight lovers of the Ukrainian language and poetry.)

While the piece itself is hardly modernist for its time, its harmonic writing is indeed individual, its rich use of enharmony is penetrating and shows affinities with his contemporaries Hugo Alfven and, more remotely, Aleksandr Scriabin. More importantly perhaps, its dramatic sharpness and urgency are compelling. Orchestral textures are vivid and the handling of Slavic choirs is both fervent and dynamic. The text could have been printed in the notes, but T. Shevchenko's classic poetry is not difficult to find. Understanding the words is not essential to the musical enjoyment, even though it would most probably enhance it.

This is a rhetoric, powerful cantata ambitiously cast in a long tradition (the end of the first part verges on the Neo-Baroque). Its organic, symphonic concentration is strengthened by the return of a motive from Part I in the vast final movement (Parts III and IV linked together). It mostly manages to avoid bombast, not least thanks to a beautiful melodic vein, in turns brooding, melancholy, consoling. The sections around 9:00 in Part I, 6:00 in Part II are particularly endearing.

Amply developed, noble themes act as the pillars of a deeply-felt, well-balanced, memorable work. It would deserve similar exposure to vocal-symphonic frescoes by Rachmaninov or the more advanced Enescu. Within the history of the Ukrainian symphony, it marks a step forward from Volodymyr Sokalsky's beautiful, if still traditional G minor symphony (1892), and directly anticipates on Levko Revutsky's 2nd symphony (1927, rev. 1940). Comparing both pieces, my feeling is that Lyudkevych's profile is rather stronger than Revutsky's, without denying the latter's poetic qualities and refined instrumental command. In some ways, it paves the way to another vocal symphony, the highly original "Simfonija Orijenta" by Josip Stolcer Slavenski. A major rediscovery, in a reference recording.


Ivan Kotlyarevsky. Enejida. (mp3). (Aeneid.)
  Архипенко Наталья , Ростов-на-Дону, Россия
24-10-2010 20:58

Открыла для себя Ивана Котляревского! Потрясающее произведение! Живой, искристый украинский язык, изумительное чувство юмора.
Отдельных слов благодарности заслуживает высоко художественное исполнение этой поэмы Борисом Лободой. Замечательно и общее звуковое оформление диска. Давно уже не испытывала такого удовольствия от прослушивания литературных произведений. Слушайте замечательную украинскую литературу)


Marenych Trio. Singing from Trio Marenych.
  , Краматорск, Украина
20-10-2010 09:15

Я искала диски - трио Маренич и Таи Повалий - у себя в городе целый год безрезультатно. Случайно в интернете нашла UMKU, сделала заказ и оперативно получила его по почте. Спасибо.


DrymbaDaDzyga. OHOooo!!! /digi-pack/.
  , Львів, Україна
14-10-2010 23:31

Скажу одне! Музика МЕГА енергійна, Інна Прокопчук - людина -ДИВО!!!
Ця музика - має в собі все, чого я дуже давно чекав від \"української музики\" ґЕКСТРА кляс!!! Шановні читачі, слухачі, не шкодуйте 30 хвилин для того щоб послухати диск ДДД, не пожалкуєте!!! Дають енергії не на день, а на тижні, місяці...!!!

Окреме дякую Інні, адже саме вона дала мені адресу сайту, на якому я зміг замовити диск з їх творчістю!!! Так тримати!!! Дякую!:)


Oksana Zabuzhko. Muzey pokynutykh sekretiv. (h). /7th edition/. (Museum of Abandoned Secrets)
  Ігор , Вінниця, Україна
08-10-2010 13:22

Захоплююча, цікава, неповторна книга з філософським змістом. Читаючи, отримуєш насолоду від кожного слова, кожного повороту подій. Персонажі живі, викликають співпереживання. Події, які описані в книзі, не залишать нікого байдужим. Оскільки і історичне тло, і події недавніх літ все ще близькі, живі.
Читати обов'язково! Найкращий монументальний український роман за останнє десятиліття!


Ukrainian Vocal and Instrumental Ensembles. Masterpieces of Ukrainian Music. /digi-pack/
  наталія , житомир, україна
03-10-2010 19:57

Так нодоїло слухати то,що зараз звучить з радіо та телебачення, приємно радує музика, підібрана у цій збірці.


100 KAZOK. The Best Ukrainian Folk Tales. Volume 2. /third edition, supplemented/. (100 Fairy-Tales)
  , Chicago, USA
01-10-2010 15:07

Дуже задоволена,що знайшла ваш сайт.Тепер мої діти мають можливість читати ті прекрасні казочки з мого дитинства. Дякую !!!


100 KAZOK. The Best Ukrainian Folk Tales. Volume 2. /third edition, supplemented/. (100 Fairy-Tales)
  , Bristol, England
01-10-2010 14:29

Stunning, amazing, exceptional.

Search on google synonyms for these words and this is what this book is like.

Bravo Ababahalamaha!


Folk band "Burdon". Re: Karpatia.
  , St. Louis, USA
01-10-2010 01:51

This belongs to the genre of "evolved folk music" - that is, it is not played like a field recording, but makes a sincere (and in this case very successful) attempt to keep the vitality and "sense of the local" that the best traditional music has. They see Carpathian music as part of a spectrum and carry that vision to its logical, and most vigorous conclusion. In this they are right up there with the Orkiestra św. Mikołaja, no mean feat. By the way, the sound is extraordinary for a release of this kind- beautifully recorded and engineered.


"Zoloti Klyuchi" Trio, Nina Matvienko. Ukrajins'ki narodni pisni. Golden Collection. (Ukrainian Folk Songs)
  , St. Louis, USA
01-10-2010 00:55

This is mostly solo à capela music, yet it does not seem austere because this singer has such a great emotional range without sacrificing traditional vocal production. The sound quality is quite adequate, considering that these are archival recordings. I will be playing this on my radio show.


"Bozhychi" folk ensemble, Serhiy Okhrimchuk. Ukrainian Dances. Part 1.
  , St. Louis, USA
01-10-2010 00:45

This is the kind of CD of Ukrainian music that I have been waiting for - a very traditional approach - not "stage Ukrainian", yet well executed. It helps one see this music in relation to other music from surrounding countries. I look forward to the DVD of the dances themselves.


Iryna Bilyk. Forever. (mp3).
  Оксана , Киев, Украина
30-09-2010 12:15

Диск уникальный! В нем собраны все альбомы, которые подтверждают, что Ирина Билык - заслуженно любима народом. ЕЕ песни - это чувства, энергия, эмоции и любовь. Я лично была просто счастлива, когда мне диск привезли в офис. Спасибо составителям !


Ivan Franko. Lys Mykyta. (mp3). (Mykyta the Fox)
  , Bristol, England
22-09-2010 22:37

I stand corrected here and admit not to know the true poem mentioned in the comment above, however I have to say that this version is very very good taken on its own. The passion with which Mr.Panchuk expresses this is truly breathtaking and for me at least his Ukrainian pronunciation and speech is wonderful. I find myself repeating whole sentences simply because acoustically they sound amazing, never have I heard not only such poetry, not only is it such a story, but the syllables, the consonants etc they really do make music and one understands why Ukrainian is considered such a musical language. Like the DVD also on umka this is a gem.


Rura. Moja ljubov. (My Love)
  Ростислав , Харків, Україна
20-09-2010 21:21

Можна, звичайно, сперечатися про якість музики Рури. Але те, що вони не бояться есперементувати - однозначно. І з текстами, і мелодією. Може намагаються поєднати в одне ціле зовсім різні стилі, чи просто розважаються (а може і те, і те одночасно). І роблять це дуже щиро.
Досить недавно довелося побачити їхній кліп на пісню "А липи цвітуть".
Браво !


Fialka teroru. "Cinema Myths of History" Documentary Series. (DVD). (Violet of Terror)
  Макс
18-09-2010 13:29

Тема далеко не новая. Уже известно, что Каплан была далеко не снайпер, а фанатичная приверженка идеи, вполне в духе времени. Но в фильме ситуация разобрана глубоко и основательно. Заслуга создателей несомненно и в том, что им удалось сделать интересный неигровой фильм, который смотришь до конца, не отрываясь. Также важно и то, что рассмотренная ситуация, предлагаемая зрителю не требует доп. подготовки у обычного зрителя для понимания ввиду того, что авторы грамотно и понятно вводят в курс дела.


© 1999-2020 UMKA. All rights reserved. Copyrights. Privacy policy. Affiliate program.

e-mail address:

 

NEWS
8 april 2020
DakhaBrakha: Alambari – CD as a present!
 
18 march 2020
Our work schedule during quarantine
 
NEW AND HOT
Vladyslav Hrynevych. Chervony Imperializm. World War II and Public Opinion in Ukraine, 1939-1941. /2nd edition, supplemented and revised/. (Red Imperialism)
Vladyslav Hrynevych. Red Imperialism
Domestic: 350.90UAH
International: $31.90USD
Serhiy Babkin. Muzasfera. /re-edition, digi-pack/. (MuseSphere)
rounding corners
Domestic: 168.30UAH
International: $15.30USD
DakhaBrakha. Alambari. /digi-pack/.
quintessence
Domestic: 157.30UAH
International: $14.30USD
Obiymy Doschu. Son. /re-edition, digi-pack/. (The Dream)
through the ashes
Domestic: 234.30UAH
International: $21.30USD